The Kings Arms is one of very few truly unchanged simple rural locals. It’s a thatched and cream-washed pub dating from the 16th century and has hitching posts for horses outside. It has been community owned since 2018 when a group of locals formed the The Low House Community Interest Company to buy the pub from Adnams.
In 2012 189 people bought a share to buy the lease of the Golden Ball, making it the first community owned cooperative pub in York and only the 12th in the UK. They bought a real gem, pretty much unchanged since it was given a stylish makeover in 1929 when the exquisite glazed brick facade and tiled signage was added.
The Crown is owned by the local Parish Council and has a support group called the ‘Friends of the Crown’. In return, the pub hosts community events and has darts, pool, cribbage and quiz teams. It is in a lovely setting on the village green surrounded by half-timbered buildings, and the village is part of the Black & White Trail.
This article takes a closer look at tiled pub exteriors, and examines the importance of the tile manufacturers in the design of pubs. Surprisingly, given their visual impact, tiled facades only started to appear in any numbers at the start of the 1900s, well into the pub building boom.